A day in the life!

I wrote this today hoping to capture a day on our way to church, with my grandparents, the whole shebang. Sadly, like every day with a handful of children, things did not go as I planned. But here is a day in the life!

4:07am- Wake up with one miserable baby! I don’t know what was going on with him this morning, but he would not go back top bed for me. I finally got him to let me roll over and get a little more sleep…thank you to my amazing husband!

IMG_6285

Thanks for that husband.

745am: Time to wake up! I can hear the littles moving around so I better get going or else our home will be destroyed! It was a long night though(Can you say nine month sleep regression? I could, but now I’m about to fall asleep every time I do.) so here I go for my first cup of coffee!

IMG_6261

8am: You know I can’t get anything done before I feed the monsters. They are all sick, however, which means there’s no need to rush-we have no church today. I get them each a fruit; cuties and an apple for the baby. I set him up in his seat and move on to get my own breakfast-I like to spoil myself for the morning meal and have a breakfast burrito almost every single morning!

IMG_6257

9am: The kids continue to eat, there’s usually a fight before ten am. This fine day it was because one hated Cuties…you know the same cuties she eats for snack nearly everyday? OH well, I say. You eat what you get I say. Then I cave and promise if they finish their cuties, they can have chocolate milk. That works.

IMG_6258

10ish: It’s time to clean! When you have five kids, everyday is cleaning day. There is no way to avoid it. Today, I worked on laundry and dishes and picking up the rest of the Christmas presents we had yet to take care of. I usually do a sink of dishes three or four times a day, no rest for the wicked. My older ones help out a LOT, the younger ones try but shockingly a nine month old is not that much help when it comes to housework, but with a sickness in the home, I had most of them napping or relaxing for all of today!

IMG_6265

11am: I start some delicious soup that I’m throwing together for dinner. It has the works: carrots, celery, hot sausage, sweet sausage, pasta, etc. I make it in the slow cooker, which by the way mamas(and daddies!) is a Godsend for busy parents.

IMG_6271

I mean, still about 11am, but doesn’t this look AMAZING?

IMG_6273

12am: begin to feed the childrens and as they eat, nurse the littlest bum to sleep! It’s wonderful to have a semblance of a schedule and while the past week has done most of ours in, we’ve come back out with our usual nap times and praise Jesus for that one.

IMG_6278

1ish: Oh, Lord, here’s some me time. As the baby sleeps and the other three play(read watch a movie because they all had temps and didn’t feel well today!) I enjoy taking some me time and relaxing with my favorite things: reading, blogging, coffee and some psych stuff! Oh and I guess a little gaming. I’m really the opposite of a “gamer” but I love me some Left 4 Dead!

IMG_6277

2ish-5ish: I run around a lot. The baby is usually awake in this interval, there are kids everywhere. Most the time, one or another has a snack, there’s a lot of tears because I tell someone NO and always someone who wants something they can’t have. Today it was mainly a baby boy who wanted to be held all the time, but we couldn’t manage that

IMG_6266

5ish: My amazing husband comes home! I get to have a kiss and hug and the children all get to run to him and receive love, all while pretending like I was some evil witch gate keeper that day. Without fail one of them complains about something I do wrong and another tells Josh how much they missed him. The woes of being a stay at home mom? Probably!

IMG_6289

6pm: Dinner begins and what is dinner time without one kid hating it? Tonights went over for the most part with a bang though-sweet and hot sausage soup is a winner guys! The only one who complained was me; next time I better drain out the grease. The husband however, loved it a lot! I may put the recipe up someday, it was so easy but so delicious.

IMG_6290

After dinner, we relax. Since it’s a Sunday, my husband put on a football game. I don’t even know who was playing: just kidding, I know Greenbay was because my friend Mindi kept posting about it! The kids headed up to bed between 8 and 9. This is by far my easiest time, I relax and get to watch television…and write this up! Josh will take a shower and I will follow up. Tonight we also looked at cheap “fixer upper” houses that we would never manage to buy and fix up but it’s one of those things we love to laugh about. We cuddle, or Josh cuddles the baby while I type this up. I sometimes manage to do the dishes, tonight I finished folding laundry and switched the load my 18 year old put in!

IMG_6281

I also never did get out of my pajamas today! Tomorrow we have a foster parent review meeting, so I looked up some info and then I have therapy and the oldest has a doctors appointment-so it will be another busy but beloved day.

This is pretty much what my every day looks like. Cleaning, cooking, a little bit of me time, and a whole lot of love. It’s so nice to have a life that has my hands full but my heart fuller. A full heart is the best thing a girl could ask for!

Til next time y’all.

Be blessed,

Lauren Jane

3 thoughts on “A day in the life!

  1. How are you liking your Asus? I really like the price of them but i want to see what people think of them before i invest any money into one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

