Happy 6th Birthday to my little Princess!,

Today the beautiful little princess turns six! I wish I knew more about the day she was born, about the first four years and 8 months of her life. I’ve got the current though, and her growth over the past year.

When she moved in with us 15ish months ago, the princess was still in diapers. She didn’t speak, couldn’t write any of her numbers or letters, and barely knew her own name. Everyday was a battle; every meal was dominated by whatever demons existed in her life before. We didn’t hear her speak until hours after we picked her up, and our families wouldn’t hear her little voice telling stories for months.

(The princess and her big sister heading into school! 2014)

Now I am so proud to have a reading, potty trained(and in a house that at one point had three in diapers, THIS IS BIG), sweet, loud and cherished baby girl.  Nothing warms my heart like her crawling up in my lap to read me a book about God making the world. It’s amazing to see her run up to Papa and Mema, loudly protesting my rules and flashing her sweet little smile to get her way. The amount she’s grown is obvious to everyone. My pastor came up to me a few weeks ago and told me he teared up, watching my once painfully shy child step up on the stage in front of the whole church with a big smile on her face.

We don’t know what her birthday next year will consist of. Her future, like ours-by choice, is not written in stone. We don’t even know if we will be able to sing her happy birthday in years to come. I hope we can, this princess has stolen the heart of many of us in this clan, but regardless we want her to have wonderful and huge birthdays she will remember for years to come.

Isn’t that how we all live though? We all want to pretend like today is forever; we will always have our loved ones, always have this house, always have this job. But nothing is set in stone for any of us. For any of us, this could be the last birthday with someone. So we should make the best of it<3 

We will be celebrating her birthday with a party at my parents tomorrow. She will be sang to, blow out her own candles(maybe, in our family you never know if the candles will be remembered or not…I’ll try!) open her presents and be the center of everyone’s attention and love-one of her favorite things.

Photo: Wrapping up the princess's birthday presents.

(Her presents before we got them wrapped; the princess lives up to her nickname)

We love you, miss Princess. Never lose that though, Mama Lauren and Daddy Josh love you. We are so proud of who you are and where you are going! I can’t wait to see you grow and change and become all the girls you are capable of being.

Be Blessed,

Lauren Jane

Leave a Reply

